trickery.net  

Go Back   trickery.net > Technical > Hardware

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 24-Jan-2018, 20:03   #1
MovingTarget
flame fodder
MovingTarget's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 139
MovingTarget has a brilliant futureMovingTarget has a brilliant futureMovingTarget has a brilliant futureMovingTarget has a brilliant futureMovingTarget has a brilliant futureMovingTarget has a brilliant futureMovingTarget has a brilliant futureMovingTarget has a brilliant futureMovingTarget has a brilliant futureMovingTarget has a brilliant futureMovingTarget has a brilliant future
ISO: Cheap VM / Minecraft Server

I'm currently running a Proliant N40L as a glorified File Sharer for Kodi, but I want to learn VM / ESXI and at the same time be able to run a Minecraft server with a lot of mods.

The Proliant is a bit limited with the Turion processor and max 8Gb memory.

I'm guessing the usual fastest processor and as much memory as possible would still apply.

So, I'm looking for any recommendations on cheap hardware, second hand etc that would do the job for not much money to get me started.

Any advice would be welcomed
MovingTarget is online now  
 Verkenner   Rekrab2007 
Reply With Quote
Old 24-Jan-2018, 20:11   #2
Inertiaman
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 38,937
Inertiaman has a reputation beyond reputeInertiaman has a reputation beyond reputeInertiaman has a reputation beyond reputeInertiaman has a reputation beyond reputeInertiaman has a reputation beyond reputeInertiaman has a reputation beyond reputeInertiaman has a reputation beyond reputeInertiaman has a reputation beyond reputeInertiaman has a reputation beyond reputeInertiaman has a reputation beyond reputeInertiaman has a reputation beyond repute
Be a bit careful of being too clever with storage choice, VMware gives no fucks about low end software raid setups and will ignore them. It'll still see disks though for the most part so as long as you work without redundancy cheap clobber is fine. I'd actually recommend the shittest brand largest SSD you can find for a basic lab as long as you're piping anything important elsewhere or to a second disk/datastore.

A multicore CPU is obviously worthy but I'd definitely look at older generations for your use case rather than squander funds on the premiums of newer chips. Does MC even multithread? You'd likely find a used Dell precision workstation or something that might cut it whilst keeping the noise and power down. They're very upgradable too, mostly tool free cases and usually shitloads of potential. In fact I labbed under my desk for the last two years on just that. Care about xeon ones, they'll need ECC ram which may increase the spend unexpectedly. You can get core i alternatives though I think.

https://www.laptopoutlet.co.uk/dell-...mr9wf-a00.html

As literally the first example when googling dell precision refurbished..
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Karmic
what you say doesn't count for shit because you rely on quotes from websites that are obviously biased

Last edited by Inertiaman; 24-Jan-2018 at 20:13.
Inertiaman is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 24-Jan-2018, 20:46   #3
MovingTarget
flame fodder
MovingTarget's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 139
MovingTarget has a brilliant futureMovingTarget has a brilliant futureMovingTarget has a brilliant futureMovingTarget has a brilliant futureMovingTarget has a brilliant futureMovingTarget has a brilliant futureMovingTarget has a brilliant futureMovingTarget has a brilliant futureMovingTarget has a brilliant futureMovingTarget has a brilliant futureMovingTarget has a brilliant future
Thanks for that, I hadn't considered the Precision!

Yes, MC doesn't support Multithread, it was all about the memory with the mods packs I was planning to use.

I'll do a quick look on ebay later as well. Thanks
MovingTarget is online now  
 Verkenner   Rekrab2007 
Reply With Quote
Old 25-Jan-2018, 08:26   #4
burundi
WARNING: May contain nuts
burundi's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Prestonia
Posts: 11,466
burundi has a reputation beyond reputeburundi has a reputation beyond reputeburundi has a reputation beyond reputeburundi has a reputation beyond reputeburundi has a reputation beyond reputeburundi has a reputation beyond reputeburundi has a reputation beyond reputeburundi has a reputation beyond reputeburundi has a reputation beyond reputeburundi has a reputation beyond reputeburundi has a reputation beyond repute
I bought an old HP XW6600 workstation for about 200, it came with an 8 core 3ghz XEON CPU (actually x2 4 core 5450's), 700gb hdd and 32gb RAM, perfect for installing VMWare ESXi on (mine runs ESXi 6.5 on a free licence) and it is a solid, well performing server, I've put a small SSD in for things that require speedy disk access and then a few 1tb drives for mass storage.

I'm currently running five VM's on it, it has about 10gb of RAM free and the CPU is barely being used, it's not the quietest thing but it's in a cupboard out of the way so not an issue for me.
__________________
I arose gigantic and black, I howled at the night and the night howled back.

Last edited by burundi; 25-Jan-2018 at 08:30.
burundi is offline  
 Geldrey 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-Feb-2018, 22:10   #5
MovingTarget
flame fodder
MovingTarget's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 139
MovingTarget has a brilliant futureMovingTarget has a brilliant futureMovingTarget has a brilliant futureMovingTarget has a brilliant futureMovingTarget has a brilliant futureMovingTarget has a brilliant futureMovingTarget has a brilliant futureMovingTarget has a brilliant futureMovingTarget has a brilliant futureMovingTarget has a brilliant futureMovingTarget has a brilliant future
Thanks for pointing me in the right direction.

I picked up this up off eBay last week: Dell Precision T5400

It arrived yesterday so, I've been playing around with it and have installed ESXi 6.5 and look forward to running through some course work I found.

Thanks again
MovingTarget is online now  
 Verkenner   Rekrab2007 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-Feb-2018, 22:47   #6
Inertiaman
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 38,937
Inertiaman has a reputation beyond reputeInertiaman has a reputation beyond reputeInertiaman has a reputation beyond reputeInertiaman has a reputation beyond reputeInertiaman has a reputation beyond reputeInertiaman has a reputation beyond reputeInertiaman has a reputation beyond reputeInertiaman has a reputation beyond reputeInertiaman has a reputation beyond reputeInertiaman has a reputation beyond reputeInertiaman has a reputation beyond repute
Cor that's a good bit of poke for a hundred quid isn't it! Good find.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Karmic
what you say doesn't count for shit because you rely on quotes from websites that are obviously biased
Inertiaman is online now  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   trickery.net > Technical > Hardware


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
trickery.net community DayZ server! wooly-back-jack ARMA/DAYZ MOD 7 01-Jun-2013 19:55
Battlefield:BC2 ETA March 2010 Chef_uk Battlefield Series 924 01-Apr-2010 16:22
trickery BF:BC2 Server GroovYF News 0 25-Feb-2010 21:14
CSS Server price list - who's cheap? Chef_uk Half-Life: Counter-Strike 1 22-May-2006 13:40
Server Pimpage Bilb Half-Life: Counter-Strike: Rats 34 10-Feb-2006 11:46

Users Viewing Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0 Release Candidate 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2003 - 2013, trickery.net